## Control Room Design Chronology

1935	WGN Radio studio - large control room
1946	Bolt – Note on Normal Frequency Statistics in Rectangular Rooms
1957	Putnam - Capitol Tower studio - small control room
1962	Berenek – Music, Acoustics & Architecture
1967	Heyser – Acoustic Measurements by Time Delay Spectrometry
1969 1969	John Storyk designs Electric Ladyland studio Tom Hidley designs first 24-track studio
1973	Veale – The Environment Design of a Recording Control Room
1975	Schroeder – Diffuse Sound Reflections by MLS
1977	Rettinger – On the Acoustics of Control Rooms
1979	Bonello – A New Criterion for the Distribution of Normal Room Modes
1979	Don Davis and Chips Davis – The LEDE Concept for the Control of Acoustic and Psychoacoustic Parameters in Recording Control Rooms
1981	Puddie Rogers - Pinna Transformation and Sound Reproduction
1982	Hidley / Newell introduce the Non Environment control room
1983 1983	RPG introduce the QRD diffuser Techron introduce the TEF System 10 portable TDS analyser
1984	D'Antonio – The RFZ//RPG Approach to Control Room Monitoring
1991	Newell – The Non-Environment Control Room
1993	Walker (BBC) - Controlled Image Design A new approach to the design of Control Room Acoustics for Stereophony

1998 EBU Tech 3276 published